Roast Chicken for Easter Dinner

roast chicken

With Easter coming up this weekend, I have been thinking I would like to take a lighter approach to my menu.  Typically I go all out with a baked ham and lots of calorie laden side dishes.  This year we are going to a brunch in the morning, so I decided to take the easy and healthy way out when it comes to dinner.

I love a roasted chicken and have found that this is one of the easiest meals to put together.  I don’t even really have a recipe, just a method and a secret ingredient.

I cut up lots of vegetables, usually carrots and red or white potatoes.  Fennel is a nice addition in the spring as well.  I place the cut up vegetables in the bottom of my roasting pan and season well with salt and pepper and a drizzle of Marisolio’s Milanese Gremolata Olive Oil.  I then turn my attention to the whole roasting chicken, which I massage liberally with the same Milanese Gremolata Oil.  Season well with salt and pepper and place on top of the cut up vegetables.  Squeeze the juice of one lemon over all.

As the chicken cooks, it is raised up from the bottom of the pan, as the vegetables form a sort of rack for the bird.  The drippings from the chicken also baste the vegetables as it cooks.  The chicken should be done in an hour and fifteen minutes.  Check temperature and be sure it is at 180 degrees.  Serve and enjoy.

If you need some of our delicious Milanese Gremolata Olive Oil, it just happens to be on sale all month long!  Do stop by the shop at 488 Main Street, or give us a call at (209) 728-8853.  You can also order online at www.marisolio.com

About Marisolio Tasting Bar

We specialize in Premium Extra Virgin Olive Oils and Balsamic Vinegars
This entry was posted in Celebrations, Olive Oils, Recipes, Sales. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

